top of page

Indoor Garden



Among the many charms Pennsylvania has to offer, four distinct seasons is perhaps the most alluring of her offerings. The balance of summer heat and humidity with her cold, snowy winters fosters wet, fertile spring earth for planting, and crisp, cool autumns for harvest underneath some of mother nature's best work of art. I am partial to the colorful foliage and blooms of autumn and spring, and the moderate temperatures offered by both seasons; however, I appreciate the extremeness of both summer and winter necessary to grow our food under the summer sun, as well as blanket our earth in frozen rest after harvest before the cycle begins again in spring. Tending to my herbs and my garden is one thing I really miss during the cold, dormant months of winter, so I found a way to continue through the frozen months by planting an indoor hydroponic garden.


I choose to use an Aerogarden, as opposed to building my own hydroponic system. Hydroponics is a process of growing plants in water, without soil. Please note, I am not affiliated with the brand Aerogarden in any way, I simply use this product, and it works well for me. It is easy to use and rather inexpensive given its convenience and the sophistication of the product. This morning I planted my first seed pods of the season, including Mint, Dill, Genovese Basil, Thai Basil, Curly Parsley, Chive, and Italian Parsley. Within one to two weeks, I will have sprouts, and within three weeks I will begin picking and using herbs. Once they flourish, I can prune, dry, and jar some while continuing to use fresh herbs day to day in recipes, teas, and other herbal remedies.


Our ancestors relied upon dried stocks of herbs, and later, some may have had the privilege to access greenhouses, during the winter months, but hydroponics is definitely a modern convenience available to present-day Pennsylvania Dutch Brauchers. This is just one way we carry our ancestral traditions forward into the future while remaining true to our roots.






by Gretchen Swank; written Thursday, November 17, 2022




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page