top of page

Saint Nicholas Eve Feast


Today, December 5th, 2022, is the eve of Saint Nicholas Day. My family and I celebrated with a big dinner and the movie "Krampus."


My son was home from school sick today, so while he was laying on the couch this morning, we went through our Pennsylvania Dutch cookbooks, looking for the perfect recipe for me to prepare for the evening. We "oooohhhh-ed" and "aaaaaahhhhh-ed" over the usual favorites we leafed our way past, until he settled upon simple "Ham and Green Beans" from the "Pennsylvania Dutch Cooking: Traditional Dutch Dishes" booklet my mom gave to me, which was given to her by her mother.



For dessert, I decided to make my dad's family candy. Growing up, my dad would make batches of his family candy this time of year to distribute to family and friends as Christmas gifts. Richie and I decided it wouldn't hurt to set a couple of pieces out on a plate next to his boot for Saint Nicholas tonight, in the hopes to charm some gifts in return, rather than a switching from Belsnickel; or worse, a snatching-up by Krampus.


I shared this recipe, and others, with you all in my book, "Earth Below, Heaven Above, God Everywhere; The Lifestyle of a Pennsylvania Dutch Powwow, Past & Present."





Not the most attractive pour I have ever done, but the taste is fabulous!







And the "Ham and Green Beans" is delicious!






This is a wonderful time of year in the Pennsylvania Dutch community, full of culture, folklore, and reasons to come together and celebrate. It is a time to reflect, and to look forward. More importantly, it is a time to look within. Tomorrow is a special feast day for an important Saint who stood for children and for the poor. Saint Nicholas was the inspiration for the secular figure of Santa Claus and the traditions surrounding his character. More on the historical Saint Nicholas tomorrow.


Stay safe from Krampus!


by Gretchen Swank; 12/5/2022


Resources: Pennsylvania Dutch Cooking. (unknown year). Booklet. Distributed by Dutchcraft, Inc. Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.







Comments


bottom of page