top of page

Turkey Vegetable Soup with Homemade Noodles


Today was the day I had to do something with the leftover turkey from Thanksgiving. So, I tapped into my creativity, opened my cabinets, and I got to work. This soup is a combination of a few items from my cabinet, fresh vegetables from the Farmer's Market, and the leftover dark turkey meat with its marinade.


Ingredients:


8 cups organic, non-GMO vegetable broth

4 multicolored organic, locally grown carrots

2 cups peas

2 cups corn

25 new potatoes

Desired amount of leftover turkey (dark or white meat - dark for more flavor) with its natural fat, juices, and marinade.


Noodle Ingredients: 1 tablespoon melted butter, 1/4 cup milk, 1 cup flour (adjust accordingly).


Add vegetable broth, sliced carrots, corn, and peas, new potatoes, and turkey to a large pot. Bring to a simmer. While the ingredients are heating, mix the flour, egg, milk, and butter and then roll out flat; cut dough into small squares, rectangles, or string shaped noodles and add to the soup approximately ten minutes before soup is done (when potatoes and carrots are tender). Homemade noodles will fully cook after approximately ten minutes of simmering; they will dimple and wrinkle when done.


I rolled my dough for this soup this morning with my great-grandmother's rolling pin. She was a Braucher who loved to bake. My mom passed her rolling pin along to me recently and advised the rolling pin was most likely a wedding gift to my great-grandmother on 2-22-1922, which would make the instrument 100 years in our family this past 2-22-2022.


by Gretchen Swank; 11/27/2022

Yorumlar


bottom of page