top of page

Yarrick Kaundi Pefferminzkuche (York County Peppermint Pie)

Updated: Feb 18, 2023



I am revisiting one of my favorite recipes today, from one of my favorite Pennsylvania Dutch recipe books by William Woys Weaver; Yarrick Kaundi Pefferminzkuche. I made five of them for my son's school Valentine's Day Party tomorrow. Unfortunately, only four of them will make it to the big bash because my German Shepherd managed to knock one of them off of its cooling perch this afternoon. Apparently, it was delicious.


My friend, Sue, and I made two of these for an Urglaawe celebration we attended last weekend, and that was the first time I used an electric mixer to beat the ingredients. I highly recommend doing so because otherwise you will not get the stiff peaks you will need on the egg whites, and your pies will turn out more like a soufflé than a custard.




Ingredients: Shortbread Crust - 3 Large Eggs - 1/2 Cup Minced Peppermint - 1 Cup Organic Plain Yogurt - 1/2 Cup Super Fine Sugar - 8 Drops Peppermint Oil


Line the pie crust with the minced peppermint; beat the egg yolks until they are the color of a lemon; add the sugar, yogurt, and peppermint oil. Beat egg whites until they are stiff peaks, then fold into the mixture. Pour into pie crust and bake for 35 - 40 minutes until golden in color.


This recipe and many others can be found in "Pennsylvania Dutch Cooking" by William Woys Weaver. Enjoy.


Happy Valentine's Day; Gretchen Swank






16 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page